Photo of the day: Gyudon @ Matsuya.

I woke up this morning craving a good bowl of Gyudon. I knew I wouldn’t have the opportunity to eat this in Ottawa, unless if I try cooking it myself. I waited for Aaron to wake up and walked down the street to Matsuya. Aaron wasn’t feeling up for Gyudon, so he grabbed something at Family Mart instead. I ordered my mini-sized Gyudon with special spicy sauce (as well as green onions and a soft boiled egg) from the touch-screen machine and handed the ticket to the server. My meal arrived within minutes along with a bowl of miso soup! I mixed everything together and tried to really enjoy my last Gyudon in Japan. It was good but probably not as good as the one Aaron had the other day from Yoshinoya. I added some 5 spice powder into it at the end and it made it a lot tastier.

I joined Aaron and we went to Tokyu Food Show to pick up some last minute spices and souvenirs from this supermarket part of the larger department store – Tokyo Plaza. I was hoping to find some interesting flavoured KitKats or other interesting snacks here but they only had Matcha and we already have that in Canada. What I did find interesting was the very large “food court” area. Think of the hot food sections at Whole Foods or Farm Boy and then multiply that a few times! It was impressive! Aaron had to go home to pack up, so I continued to wonder around Shibuya a while longer on a search for some interesting snacks to bring home. I tried looking in a few convenience stores and department stores but no luck. I eventually gave up and went home to finished packing. We were given a later check-out time but our flight was delayed and we still had some time left to spend in Shibuya, so we found a locker at the station to store some of our belongings. There were lockers throughout the station and the city; however, it was quite difficult to find an available large locker to hold suitcases. We ended up just storing away our smaller bags/backpacks and rolled around our suitcases. 

Before we left, I really wanted the “train” sushi at Uobei again. There was no wait this time and I felt like I knew what I was doing now. I was disappointed to see that they did not have any blue fin tuna on their menu today. I tried a few more new things, like the squid here and it was better than the ones I’ve had in Canada but not as good as the one I had at Tsukiji Sushi the other day. I also tried the Seafood Yukhoe Sushi and it tasted like the spicy salmon/tuna sushi that we would get in Canada. So I did not enjoy the fish as much this time around, but it was still a fun last meal of the trip.

IMG_0778.JPG
Our last meal in Japan @ Uobei.

I was going to give up on my KitKat hunt and hoped that they would have some at the airport, but Aaron suggested that we check out Don Quijote. It turns out that is the place to go! They had all sorts of flavours here along with different flavours of Pocky too! I obviously did not look carefully when I was browsing the Don Quijote in Asakusa or else I would have known to have done all my cosmetics/snacks/souvenir shopping here! They had everything under one roof and you can take advantage of the tax refund here, by combining all your purchases! Lesson learned for next time.

We grabbed our belongings from the lockers, then took the train to Haneda Airport. There were showers here so Aaron decided to use their facilities. While I was waiting for him, I saw a line suddenly form with securities surrounding the area. The demographics is mostly young ladies. I am assuming they are waiting for a famous celebrity. We never ended up finding out who they were waiting for. The check-in/security/customs process went a lot quicker here compared to in Seoul. The customs process was also quite simple. The officer just took our tax-free receipts, which were attached to our passport, then we were off to our gate!

So here we are at the end of our 2+ month trip across Southeast and Northeast Asia. It’s been a fun journey and I am thankful for those who followed along. Stay tuned for the trip reflection post for Japan as well as future posts with tips and lessons I’ve learn during this trip!

Leave a Reply

